Ready to get your Texas License toCarry- Texas Concealed Carry? Click Here to begin with our $40 100% DPSApproved Online Texas LTC Class
The initial permit and renewal application costs forty dollars in Texas. However, for military veterans who are honorably discharged from service, the cost is twenty-five dollars for both permits. For example, it is illegal to carry a concealed handgun if the person has the gun in sight, or if they are involved in criminal activity (other than a Class C traffic violation), or if they are prohibited from possessing a firearm or are a member of a criminal street gang. Because the law no longer requires that your firearms be concealed, Texas changed the name of the license from CHL (Concealed Weapon License) to LTC (License to Carry).
To renew your Texas Concealed Weapons License, you must first complete a firearms proficiency course within 6 months prior to the application renewal date for the first or second renewal and the renewal application date or the previous renewal application date, for a third or subsequent renewal, to ensure that the licensee is not required to complete the course more than once in a 10-year period. Texas Penal Code §46.035 makes it illegal for an intoxicated person to carry a concealed weapon. If your license is lost or stolen, you must notify the Department of Public Safety within 30 days of the change of address. You must then surrender the license within ten days of receiving the notice, unless it has already been given or seized as evidence or you request a hearing from the department.
You can use a Texas gun license in these states, but you can only own firearms in accordance with their gun laws. Handguns were the only type of firearm that required a state license to carry them in most public places in Texas. Long guns such as shotguns and rifles, including semi-automatic rifles, were and are still allowed to be openly transported in most public places in Texas without a license. I still recommend getting a concealed carry license that allows you to carry concealed in many other states.
Under the new law, (expected to take effect in September 2002) Texans would no longer need that license to carry a gun. Having a Texas concealed carry license exempts you from a National Instant Criminal System (NICS) check when purchasing a firearm according to the ATF Brady Permanent Permit Schedule. Individuals currently serving in the military OR who were honorably discharged in the past 365 days; or peace officers licensed under Chapter 1701, Occupations Code, and who are employed as peace officers by a Texas law enforcement agency; or a correctional officer with the Department of Justice Texas Criminal (TDCJ); or an active Texas military member; or a county jailer. The renewal license expires on the applicant's birthday five years after the expiration date of the previous license.
Texas is an issuing state and issues concealed gun licenses to Texas residents and non-residents. Anyone traveling to Texas can carry a loaded handgun in their vehicle, but it must be hidden and the person cannot participate in criminal activity.Click here for our DPS Approved Training For Texas Licenseto Carry a Handgun Online Class