The license to carry a pistol service allows you to apply for, renew, or verify the status of a handgun license or instructor certification in line with the. Is it time to renew your Texas LTC? Good news, it's very easy to renew your Texas license to carry it and you can renew it even if you moved to another state. To renew your Texas LTC, you won't need to take a class or resubmit your fingerprints. Simply renew online on the DPS website by logging in as a “returning user”.
You can renew up to 6 months in advance, if you try before, the renewal link will not appear when you log in. If your handgun license says “Concealed Weapon License” instead of “License to Carry”, you DO NOT have to take a class again to renew your license. The Gun Carrying License service allows you to apply for, renew, or verify the status of a handgun license or instructor certification in line with the Texas Department of Public Safety. The price of this service includes funds that support ongoing operations and improvements in Texas.
To obtain a permit, it is your sole responsibility to apply to the State of Texas and submit all required documentation along with any charges. Before you begin, read Texas firearm licensing laws and selected statutes (download Adobe Reader). If your license has expired more than 12 months, the DPS handgun license renewal system will not allow you to renew it. If you're looking to get your Texas LTC for the first time, you'll need to take the state-required class.
It is your responsibility to research and understand local laws regarding handgun possession and carrying license. Every case is different, and this material does not replace or replace the advice or representation of a licensed attorney.
Click here for our DPS Approved Training For Texas Licenseto Carry a Handgun Online Class